If you are moving or passing through another state, driving laws can vary. In Colorado, the population continues to grow, causing more traffic and crowded roadways. Here, we discuss common Colorado traffic safety laws that you should know about.
Car Seat Belt Requirements
As of November 2020, 54% of car accident fatalities involved unbuckled passengers. Wearing seat belts is enforced by authorities to help keep people safe on the road. In Colorado, it is required by law that the driver and front-seat passenger buckle up if the vehicle is being operated on the highway or street. If you refuse to wear a seat belt, you risk getting a ticket.
Child Car Seat Law
Colorado law states that seat belts are mandatory for drivers and all front-seat passengers. All children under the age of 8 must be in an appropriate car seat. Finding a car seat depends on a child’s weight, height, and age. The following child safety laws must be followed, as you may face an $82 fine for breaking the law.
- Newborn to 1 year old (less than 20lbs): Rear-facing seat in the back seat of the vehicle
- 1 to 3 years old (at least 20lbs): Forward-facing seat in the back seat of the vehicle
- 4 to 7 years old: Booster seat
- 8 years old and older: Can begin using the standard vehicle seat belt.
The proper use of a booster seat and/or seat belt means that the belt crosses the shoulder and chest. The lap belt must lie flat across the thighs and not the stomach. It is recommended that your child be at least 4ft 9 inches before having them use a standard vehicle safety belt.
Texting While Driving and Electronic Devices
In Colorado, it is illegal to use a cell phone while driving if you are under the age of 18 or driving with a learner’s permit. However, Colorado law allows the use of cell phones in the following situations:
- You fear for your safety
- You witness a crime
- You witness an accident and need to report it
- You need to report a reckless driver
It is illegal for all Colorado drivers to text while behind the wheel. If you have been in an accident due to a distracted driver, it is important to consult with a car accident lawyer for legal assistance. An attorney can investigate the accident and find out what really happened.
Bicycle and Motorcycle Laws
Helmets are about 37% effective in preventing motorcycle fatalities and 67% effective in preventing brain injuries. Only 18 states legally require riders to wear a helmet while operating a motorcycle in the United States In Colorado, motorcycle riders under 18 years old must wear a helmet. Although not required, riders should still wear a helmet, as it prevents severe head injuries and could save their life. According to a study, there are 4,500 motorcycle accident fatalities every year in the United States, and 37% of those fatalities involve head injuries. Cyclists are also not required to wear helmets in the state of Colorado.
Headlight Laws in Colorado
In Colorado, there are different headlight laws for different vehicles. For regular automobiles, headlights are required before sunrise and after sunset. Headlights are also required when visibility is 1,000 feet or less during harsh weather conditions. Motorcycles are required to have headlights on before sunrise and after sunset, not during the day. Bicycles are a little different and require white headlights on the front of the bike while riding after sunset and before sunrise.